Kathmandu. Live videos on Facebook will be deleted after 30 days.According to a new announcement made by Facebook on Tuesday, live videos on Facebook will no longer be saved for more than 30 days.Previously, such videos were stored indefinitely. This new arrangement will be implemented from Wednesday.
According to Facebook’s operating organization Meta, users will be informed about this before any video is deleted. After receiving the notification, users will be able to request an extension of up to 6 months or work on options such as downloading it immediately, moving it to cloud storage or converting it to a new reel.Meta has clarified that this decision was made after it was observed that live videos on Facebook were not getting views after the initial few weeks.
‘Before your archived live videos are deleted, you will be notified via email and app, and then you will be given 90 days to download or transfer the content,’ Facebook said.Deleting videos that are not viewed much in this way will save Facebook a large amount of server and space.
According to Facebook, if users do not download or otherwise act on old live videos within a specified period, they will be automatically deleted. Once deleted, users will not be able to store the video again.
Facebook said it will provide an “option to postpone the deletion process for an additional six months.” Even during that period, if the user does not make any decision, the old videos will be automatically deleted, Meta said.
Facebook is also introducing new download tools to help users preserve their old live videos. Users will be able to select the “Download Live Videos” option to download their old live videos in one go, which will be available in the notification they receive.
Similarly, they can select the “Transfer Live Videos” option and store them in their cloud storage provider, such as Dropbox, Google Drive, etc.
